Datum: 20. Februar 2017
Einlass: 19.00 Uhr
Beginn: 20.00 Uhr
Eintrittt: 15,00 Euro
Reihe: Creative Jazz / Improvisierte Musik

Tomeka Reid – vcl
Christoph Erb – ts, ss, bcl
Keefe Jackson – ts, bcl

After their first record Live in Toledo, and successful tours in the US and Europe (including guests Jaimie Branch, Jeb Bishop, and Nate Wooley), the trio announces their next release, Live at the Hungry Brain, with a European tour in February 2017. In a review of their Lexington, Kentucky performance, Walter Tunis wrote ‘ …the entire performance slowly shifted in shades of tonal color, pace, and temperament. …The cumulative sounds were as fascinating as they were indefinable.’ Reviewing the first record in Sound Projector (UK), Nausika writes ‘there’s an uncannily vocal quality to this performance – it speaks to you directly. ..Whatever it is they’re saying, I want to hear more.’


KEEFE JACKSON, saxophonist/clarinetist/improvisor/composer, arrived in Chicago in 2001 from his native Fayettevile, Arkansas. He performs regularly in the U.S. and in Europe with many musicians including Pandelis Karayorgis, Tim Daisy, Dave Rempis, Jeb Bishop, Jason Roebke, Jason Adasiewicz, Mike Reed, Jason Stein, Josh Berman, Fred Lonberg-Holm, Frank Rosaly, Oscar Jan Hoogland and Marc Unternaehrer. He has also appeared with Michael Moore, Ab Baars, Michiel Braam, Satoko Fujii, and Anthony Coleman. Bill Meyer (Chicago Reader): “…the impeccable logic of his lines and the richness of his tone leave you wanting more… Jackson’s highregister squiggles and coarsely voiced, rippling runs push the limits of the tenor’s tonal envelope.” Frank van Herk, de Volkskrant (Amsterdam): “[Jackson] has an oldfashioned, warmwoolly sound, and a feeling for melodic lines that take their time in unfolding.” He has been mentioned in the DownBeat Critics Poll in the Rising Star Tenor Saxophone category. Recordings are available on Delmark and Clean Feed Records.

CHRISTOPH ERB (tenor and soprano saxophone, bass clarinet) was born in Zurich, Switzerland, currently lives in Lucerne, Switzerland. He performs regularly in Europe and the U.S with many musicians including: Jim Baker, Fred Lonberg-Holm, Michael Zerang, Jason Roebke, Jason Adasiewicz, Josh Berman, Frank Rosaly, Nate Wooley, Jaimie Branch, Paul Lovens, Michael Vatcher, Hans Koch, Urs Leimgruber, Martin Schütz, Peter Schärli, Frantz Loriot, Julian Sartorius, Christian Weber and many others. He has played several tours in Europe, Russia, USA and South America.
In 2007 he has formed his own Label vetorecords, and 2011 after a four month residence in Chicago the sublabel for improvised music vetoexchange. 2012 he received the Culture Award from the City of Lucerne. There are more than 14 albums to his credit, available on vetorecords, Hatology and Creative Sources.

Chicago based cellist, composer and educator, TOMEKA REID has been described as “a remarkably versatile player,” (Howard Reich, Chicago Tribune). She is an integral part of Dee Alexander’s Evolution Ensemble, Nicole Mitchell’s Black Earth Ensemble/Strings, Mike Reed’s Loose Assembly, the Association for the Advancement of Creative Musicians (AACM) Great Black Music Ensemble, and coleads the internationally recognized string trio, Hear in Now. Ms. Reid performs with many of today’s forwardthinking musicians including Anthony Braxton, George Lewis, Roscoe Mitchell, Jeb Bishop, Myra Melford, Fred LonbergHolm, Denis Fournier, Edward Wilkerson and Harrison Bankhead. Ms. Reid also leads her own quartet including Mary Halvorson, Jason Roebke and Tomas Fujiwara.
As a composer, Ms. Reid has been commissioned by the AACM, the Chicago Jazz Festival and the Chicago Jazz Ensemble and has had several opportunities to showcase her work abroad at festivals such as Umbria Jazz, An Insolent Noise and Vignola Jazz. She has been nominated and awarded residencies for composition with the Ragdale Foundation and the 2nd Annual Make Jazz Fellowship hosted by the 18th Street Arts Organization. Ms. Reid was selected as a 2012 participant in the Jazz Composers Orchestra Institute held at the University of California: Los Angeles.